Can I trust you?

Family

Well, it’s a new year and a new season for me. I have started my courses at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, and surprisingly I am enjoying every minute of it. To be honest, I wasn’t too excited about going back to school, and even to seminary. My motivation was really the end result, becoming a counselor. Now that I have begun my classes though, I feel more than ever like I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

A21 Campaign

This transition has not been easy, however, and I am still working out the kinks. One of these difficulties is figuring out my schedule and how to balance everything. In January, I helped out with the Ignite Justice Conference by leading a breakout session on sex trafficking. It was a huge success, and relief! I absolutely love raising awareness about social injustice and helping others figure out what they can do to help, but it took up a lot of my time. Now that it is over though, I can look back and see what an incredible opportunity it was to meet so many other like-minded people and organizations. (inset: Bianca Olthoff from The A21 Campaign at the conference)

Something else I have been working on is writing a few pieces for a local magazine called Speak Up. The mission of Speak Up is to produce a “street magazine” that strives to cover homelessness, poverty and social justice issues while providing a source of income for vulnerably-housed people. The couple that started this publication is extremely passionate about ending homelessness in Charlotte, and doing whatever they can to give a voice to the issues our community faces. My articles focus on the issue I am most passionate about, sex trafficking, but really every article is well worth the read. If you are local, please pick up the magazine and  support that vender!

Okay, so like I said in the beginning of this post, I am still working on the balance of this new season. With so many opportunities coming my way suddenly, what do I say no to?

Well that is where you possibly come in. I just can’t do this alone. When I first started support raising, I kept telling myself this would be a one-time thing. Turns out it is more like a life-style thing now. Some of you have heard about the Partnership Program at Gordon-Conwell where I can receive a full-tuition scholarship if I raise $5,900 a year. I am so happy to share that I have been given acceptance into the program for the spring semester, however, I only have until April 1st to reach my goal for the full scholarship. I am about $2,000 short, but trusting that the rest will come in time. In order to stay in school and keep up with my anti-trafficking work, I need to be in the Partnership Program. So I am asking, again, that you would consider partnering with me. This is not my ideal, but it is what God keeps bringing me to. So TRUST. Even though I don’t see how this can all work, I will choose to trust that His plan is better than mine.

Leave a Reply

