It’s Official

It’s official! I have been accepted into Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary and will begin classes in February. I hope to get my Master’s in Christian Counseling so I can continue working with victims of sex trafficking, and eventually go back overseas. While I have been busy with the anti-trafficking community in Charlotte, I am excited to get further training and preparation in the specific field of counseling. I also feel very confident that this is exactly what I am suppose to do.

BUT I need your help to do it. Awhile back, when I was debating whether to go back to school, someone asked me what was preventing me from moving forward. I thought about it, and while there were a few reasons, probably the biggest was the financial aspect of school. So I said, if God could cover my school fees, than I would go. Well, the very next day I found out about something called the Partnership Program at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary. In this program, students learn how to support raise, create a network of community and sponsors, and are prepared for working in a non-profit/ministry after graduation. Partnership students are also expected to raise $5,900 a year and will receive a full-tuition scholarship from the seminary. Prayer answered.

Through the Partnership Program, God has shown me that the financial obstacle keeping me from school can be removed. So while I continue to work part-time at a coffee shop, volunteer with the Ignite Justice Conference, and help with the local anti-trafficking community, I will also be support raising. I know it may seem like a lot, but I feel that if I stop doing what I am passionate about, then why go back to school? Reaching out to these young men and women trapped in the sex industry is what I feel called to do; it is what motivates me and pulls at my heart. So I am asking that you help me.images

If you feel moved by the issue of human trafficking and social injustice, then know that is what I am fighting. If you have already partnered with me in the past, than I ask that you continue to do so. I do not take your support and generosity lightly, and my hope is that you are blessed ten times over in what you give.

I will be sending out pledge cards soon, as my deadline for the Partnership Program is January 31st, so if you are interested in becoming a monthly sponsor let me know. There is not much time, but I also have faith that it is possible. So please pray and consider partnering with me as I keep you informed every month on school, life, and everything else.

5 thoughts on “It’s Official

  1. Hi Hollis!

    We often think of you and the other girls who spent time with us in Bor.

    All this stuff that you are into looks really good. I’m sure it’s an area that needs a lot of loving, Christian input.

    God bless you in all that you are doing and hoping for, Rog and Sue.

Leave a Reply

