What I do know is love.

I have been in Thailand for about a week, and per usual it feels much longer. In this short time I think I have aged many years over, and feel more equipped than before. But I sit and ask myself, equipped for what exactly?

This trip to SE Asia for Halogen/Tainted Love, has proven to be far different than any other experience I have had and at times, this difference has been very challenging. Instead of interacting, we document. Instead of knowing and understanding my role, I am learning and playing catch up. Every single day is humbling, yet exciting. I am learning how to better share not only my own experiences, but also the stories of the incredible people I meet. My perspective is expanding, and along with it so is my heart.

Walking through the red light districts in Thailand, camera in hand and heart pounding, my emotions go to battle. I am here to help bring these stories and images back to the US, but at the same time all I want is to sit for hours with these women and hold their hands and tell them they are loved.

In a world full of lust, neon lights, and mini skirts, there is little to be seen of real love. Everything is an act, from the flirtatious smiles of the beautiful women to the satisfaction men have in buying affection and attention. None of it is real and everlasting. So my objective, as I grapple with finding a balance between my emotions and my responsibilities, is to show love.

Not an easy task, but it is a simple one.

“No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us… God is love.”  1 John 4:12

3 thoughts on “What I do know is love.

  1. We were just in Thailand in January. Are you in Bangkok? When are any of your projects going to take you to China?! You’re always welcome in Guiyang, Guizhou if you ever have some free time. Still love you friend!

Leave a Reply

