My next step

So I have been back in Charlotte since September (minus a few international trips), and have finished up my time with the World Race. It has been a bittersweet transition, but God has proven so faithful in this time. During my experiences overseas, I developed a passion to help end human trafficking. I shared some of those stories here, but it looks like there will be more to come.

Since being back stateside, I have not stopped pursuing my passions. I have had the opportunity to meet some amazing people, and have seen the movement to end sex trafficking invade Charlotte full force. I am so encouraged by what people are doing, and what God is doing in this city, and it doesn’t end there. I have also encountered opportunities to go back overseas and I now realize that my heart still aches for the nations.

With that said, it looks like I will be heading back to SE Asia in about a week, to help capture the realities of sex trafficking on film with the television network Halogen. They produce a show called “Tainted Love,” which tells the stories of real victims and raises awareness on an issue that can be found both on a domestic and international level. Although I will be a part of a small team from Halogen I am not actually on staff with the network, so I have been support raising to cover some of my costs for this trip. I do not really know what to expect as this is a different sort of trip than I am used to, but God said go and so that’s what I will do.

Looking back, it’s incredible to think that almost 2 years ago I was in SE Asia for the first time pleading with God (and the World Race) to let me stay there. My heart broke for the women and children victim to sexual exploitation in that region, and I did not want to leave them. I did not understand then, why God would give me such a passion and then ask me to abandon it. However, now I see His plan was just different, and I was never meant to forget those people or places. I am extremely thankful to be going back to the region I love for the third time, and I know it won’t be my last.

This whole process of following God’s will for my life is exciting yet humbling, and I hope to share what He is doing over the next few weeks.

4 thoughts on “My next step

  1. I am so excited for you & all the Lord is doing in your life! It’s amazing how He continues to guide & direct as we walk in obedience! So excited to follow your journey… love you much!

Leave a Reply

